Skip to main content

Legislative Committee

Bylaws Charge

Article 7: Committees of the Association

7.1.5 | The Legislative Liaison Committee shall coordinate the legislative business of the Association as directed by the Board of Directors including monitoring and reporting Education Retirement Board activities.

2018-2019 Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee is co-chaired by Pug Burge and Dubra Karnes-Padilla. If you would like to become involved, please feel free to contact us. The committee has met monthly in the past, but as the legislative season heats up, we’ll probably meet more often.

Members of the UNMRA Legislative Committee:

Pug Burgepugburge@gmail.com
Sally Hebertshebert@unm.edu
Dubra Karnes-Padilladubrakp@gmail.com
Roalie Oterootero@unm.edu
Fred Rosefrose@aol.com
Barbara Spetalnikbspetalnik@salud.unm.edu
Connie Vancecvance@unm.edu
Jerry Whitejwhite653@comcast.net

In addition, we attend NMERB Board and Legislative Committee meetings. We report back to the UNMRA Board any issue that may affect your defined-benefit pension. Our involvement is important and it makes a difference when we are a presence at these meetings. Legislators notice when visitors identify themselves as UNMRA. If you’d like to attend these meetings, please contact us.

UNM’s Office of Government and Community Relations sends out regular alerts. Sign up for alerts at http://govrel.unm.edu/