Skip to main content

Legislative Committee

Bylaws Charge

Article 7: Committees of the Association

7.1.5 | The Legislative Liaison Committee shall coordinate the legislative business of the Association as directed by the Board of Directors including monitoring and reporting Education Retirement Board activities.

2016-2017 Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee is co-chaired by Sally Hebert and Dubra Karnes-Padilla. If you would like to become involved, please feel free to contact us. The committee has met monthly in the past, but as the legislative season heats up, we’ll probably meet more often.

Members of the UNMRA Legislative Committee:

Melanie Baisemelaniebaise@gmail.com
Howard Bryanthzero@unm.edu
Pug Burgepugburge@gmail.com
Dorothy Gillespiegillespie@q.com
Sally Hebertshebert@unm.edu
Dubra Karnes-Padilladubrakp@gmail.com
Beth Lehmanblehman@unm.edu
Raqui Martinezrmartine@qwestoffice.net
Richard Mertzrcmertz1@msn.com
Fred Rosefrose@aol.com
Barbara Spetalnikbspetalnik@salud.unm.edu

In addition, we attend legislative committee meetings involved in the ERB solvency issue and then report back to the UNMRA Board. Our involvement is important, and it makes a difference when we are a presence at these meetings. Typically, visitors to the meetings are asked to introduce themselves. Legislators notice when visitors identify themselves as UNMRA. If you’d like to attend, please contact us.

UNM’s Office of Government and Community Relations sends out regular alerts. Sign up for alerts at http://govrel.unm.edu/